fertbits.blogg.se

Iterm2 mouse scroll
Iterm2 mouse scroll











iterm2 mouse scroll

Besides using iTerm instead of Terminal.app for the key repeat issue, no other changes in how I was running Vim helped. Note that I did not mention using tmux over screen, or Neovim instead of Vim. All the tricks I currently know for dealing with slow scrolling in Vim. I don’t use this setting anymore because nocursorline was more useful.

iterm2 mouse scroll

It turns off syntax highlighting after a max column value, so lines longer than that abrubtly lose syntax coloring. Basically, it seems to limit the number of times Vim renders, which sped up scrolling for me. You can read about it with help lazyredraw. That’s kind of a bummer, but if it means I can scroll through HTML and Ruby files, then I’ll take it. It turns off the bar that highlights the current line you’re on. This setting had the most impact of the three. There are three settings that helped this on my systems. If you’re a programmer, that means a lot of files! And the problem affects more than just macOS. The magic KeyRemap4MacBook values for me were:Įven with fast repeat settings, Vim can slow to a craw while scrolling through files that have long lines, when syntax highlighting is turned on.

  • Tweak the repeat values even more with KeyRemap4MacBook.
  • Terminal.app couldn’t cope with faster key repeat settings – Vim was still slow, though a bit faster. Now, the vanilla options helped some, but in order to get really fast scrolling speed, I had to take two more steps: Tweak the Key Repeat and Delay Until Repeat settings to find a good speed. I had to restart after changing these settings to see any effect. You can change Key Repeat settings in System Preferences -> Keyboard. It turns out there was a simple cause for the problem: key repeat settings. Sometimes paste bracketing can be left on, causing unexpected behavior when you paste. This can be useful because editors like vim may disable auto-indenting when pasting already-indented code.

    Iterm2 mouse scroll mac#

    Scrolling with j and k was blindingly fast on Linux, but plodded along on my Mac so slowly that I began using Control-F and Control-B most of the time. When enabled, iTerm2 transmits a control sequence before and after paste operations (e.g., pressing Cmd-V).

    iterm2 mouse scroll

    There was always a marked difference between Vim on my Mac and Vim on Linux. Other times, the problem is really about Vim’s ability to render long lines with syntax highlighting.įear not! There are solutions to both problems. In some cases, the problem is OS-specific: key repeat settings can slow down scrolling with the j and k keys. Vim, Neovim, and MacVim can all exhibit slow scrolling in macOS.













    Iterm2 mouse scroll